Hours: Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. excluding holidays
Phone: (203) 581-5270
The Bridgeport Police Department Records Division is responsible for the maintenance and storage of all incident reports, accident reports, stolen vehicle reports, recovered vehicle reports, arrest warrants, and arrest records. We also maintain the records of sexual offenders in compliance with "Megan’s Law".
Copies of reports are $.50 per side. For example, an accident involving 2 cars is usually a two-sided report which would cost $1.00. Due to the large amount of calls received for information, no report information is given over the telephone.
You can obtain a copy of a motor accident report by visiting the PD Records Division in person, there is a cost of $.50 per side. For your convenience motor vehicle accident reports may be purchased online for an additional fee. Please wait 5 business days to access your report online.
To access the online report system
Copies are available by in person, mail or online. We do not fax copies of reports. If a report is requested by mail, the requesting person must include the complete file number, a money order for the amount due, and a self-addressed stamped envelope.
Copies of incident reports on which an arrest is made are not available from the Police Department until all charges are adjudicated in court. For victims of crime, copies of incident reports may be available through the victim’s advocate at the court. For persons arrested, copies of incident reports are available from your attorneys or from the Public Defender’s Office (depending on who is representing the arrestee).
Copies of incident reports involving juveniles are not available without the approval of the Commander of the Youth Bureau. Copies are incident reports involving sexual assaults are not available without the approval of the Commander of the Detective Bureau.
Accidents and incidents are often available on the second day after the occurrence. But, to be sure, they may be picked up four to five working days (excluding holidays and weekends) after the occurrence. Persons may call the Records Division to find out if the report is ready. Report numbers start with the year, month, day of the incident, and the incident number. For example, an incident that occurred on October 31, 1997, number 200, would be 971031200.
Background checks (criminal history) for citizens which are used for employment, immigration, housing, etc., are available in the Records Division and cost $1.00. Persons requesting record checks must provide us with one of only four accepted forms of identification: a valid Connecticut Driver’s License, a Connecticut Motor Vehicle Department non-driver identification, a valid passport, or a valid alien registration card (green card).
Persons wishing to know if an arrest warrant exists for either themselves or another individual may not get this information over the telephone. We will not disclose any third-party warrant information to anyone. Persons wishing to know if they have an active warrant must inquire in person and bring a valid identification with them.
Hours: Monday through Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. for inquiries/property retrieval
Fridays 9:00am to 2:00pm for Inquiries Only- Closed Holidays
Phone: (203) 581-5268
The Property Room is also a part of the Records Division and handles evidence, found property, and money.
The State auctions are conducted by Clearinghouse Galleries
of Wethersfield in conjunction with the Dept. of Administrative
Services, St. of CT. Their Hotline Number for upcoming vehicle and
general property auctions is (860)529-8844 and the number to get on
their mailing list is (860)529-3344.
The Bridgeport Police Department Property Room does not hold any auctions of abandoned or recovered property, including bicycles. Auctions are not held by the State of Connecticut, Office of the Examiner of Seized Property (860-722-5841). These auctions include property turned over to the State by the Bridgeport Police Department.