IN ACCORDANCE WITH STATE OF CONNECTICUT
VITAL RECORDS REGULATIONS

In order to obtain your Birth Certificate you must provide a Government issued photo
identification which includes date of birth, signature and expiration date such as:

eCurrent State ID issued by the State of Connecticut DMV
eCurrent motor vehicle ID issued by the State of Connecticut DMV (with the correct address)
eCurrent motor vehicle ID issued by the state where your currently reside

*A valid passport

If a government issued photographic identification is not available, at least two of the
following documents:

¢ A social security card

*A social security card supplemented with an employment identification card
eAutomobile registration

*Birth certificate of the applicant

eChecking account deposit slip showing name and current address

*Copy of utility bill showing name and current address

eCurrent school or college photographic ID

eGovernment issued photographic identification (current) or that has expired within 12 months prior to the date of the
request

eLetter from a government agency verifying identity.: letter shall be dated within 6 months prior to the date of the
request.

*Medical card

eMilitary discharge papers

ePay stub

eProbation documents issued by a court or other government agency, pursuant to a criminal conviction

*Release documentation from a correctional institution containing a photograph of the former inmate and a release
date within 12 months prior to the date of the request




*Valid government issued firearm permit

*Valid government issued trade or professional license

*\oter registration card

*W-2 form

eWritten verification of identity from employer

*Other documents as approved by the State Registrar of Vital Records

Sec. 7-51 CGS -Birth records are confidential according to State Statute. Access to birth records less than 100 years
old is restricted in Connecticut. The only persons who may have access to or be permitted to examine the original or
any copy of a birth certificate or birth record are:

(1) The person whose birth is recorded, if over 16 years of age;
(2) Such person’s children, grandchildren, spouse, civil union partner, parent, guardian or grandparent. (NOTE: a
father has access only if he is recorded on the child’s birth certificate);

a. If you are a biological grandparent, you may purchase your grandchild’s birth certificate, with proof of relation
(such as your child’s birth certificate). If your child was not born in Bridgeport you must provide an original birth
certificate (containing the raised seal) for your child, in order to purchase your grandchild’s certificate.

b. If you are obtaining a certificate for your spouse, you must provide your marriage license. If you were married in
Bridgeport, we will be able to verify this in our records.

(3) Attorneys-at-law and title examiners representing such person or such person’s parent, guardian, child or surviving
spouse;

(4) Members of genealogical societies incorporated or authorized by the secretary of the state to do business or
conduct affairs in this state;

(5) Agents of a state or federal agency as approved by the department; and

(6) Researchers approved by the department pursuant to section 19a-25.

(7) Military Recruiters with signed release from the registrant; document must be red stamped

Any approved state agency or federal agency that requests a copy of a birth certificate shall supply to the registrar, a
release signed by the registrant or by the agent of the minor child or legal guardian, accompanied with the requestor’s
ID, authorizing a copy of the birth certificate be sent to the requesting agency. All other 3™ party requests are not to be
honored.

All fees for documents are payable in cash in the office or money order in the mail. Money orders should be made
payable to Bridgeport Vital Records. The statutory fee for each certified copy is $20.

Telephone verification of any information concerning the birth or birth record is prohibited.

Faxing or E-mailing of any birth record is prohibited by law.

...Registrar has the authority to request any additional document from this list if authenticity

of provided documents is questionable.




