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IN ACCORDANCE WITH STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

VITAL RECORDS REGULATIONS TO OBTAIN BIRTH CERTIFICATE 

In order to obtain your Birth Certificate, you must provide a Government issued photo 

identification which includes date of birth, signature and expiration date such as: 

• Current State ID issued by the State of Connecticut DMV

• Current motor vehicle ID issued by the State of Connecticut DMV (with the correct

address)

• Current motor vehicle ID issued by the state where your currently reside

• A valid passport

If a government issued photographic identification is not available, at least two of the following 

documents: 

• A social security card

• A social security card supplemented with an employment identification card

• Automobile registration

• Birth certificate of the applicant

• Checking account deposit slip showing name and current address

• Copy of utility bill showing name and current address

• Current school or college photographic ID

• Government issued photographic identification (current) or that has expired within 12

months prior to the date of the request

• Letter from a government agency verifying identity: letter shall be dated within 6 months

prior to the date of the request.

• Medical card

• Military discharge papers

• Pay stub

• Probation documents issued by a court or other government agency, pursuant to a criminal

conviction

• Release documentation from a correctional institution containing a photograph of the

former inmate and a release date within 12 months prior to the date of the request

• Valid government issued firearm permit

• Valid government issued trade or professional license

• Voter registration card

• W-2 form

• Written verification of identity from employer

• Other documents as approved by the State Registrar of Vital Record



Sec. 7-51 CGS –Birth records are confidential according to State Statute. Access to birth 

records less than 100 years old is restricted in Connecticut. The only persons who may 

have access to or be permitted to examine the original or any copy of a birth certificate or 

birth record are: 

1. The person whose birth is recorded, if over 16 years of age;

2. Such person’s children, grandchildren, spouse, civil union partner, parent,

guardian or grandparent. (NOTE: a father has access only if he is recorded

on the child’s birth certificate);

a. If you are a biological grandparent, you may purchase your grandchild’s birth

certificate, with proof of relation (such as your child’s birth certificate). If your

child was not born in Bridgeport you must provide an original birth certificate

(containing the raised seal) for your child, in order to purchase your

grandchild’s certificate.

b. If you are obtaining a certificate for your spouse, you must provide your

marriage license. If you were married in Bridgeport, we will be able to verify

this in our records.

3. Attorneys-at-law and title examiners representing such person or such person’s parent,

guardian, child or surviving spouse;

4. Members of genealogical societies incorporated or authorized by the secretary of the

state to do business or conduct affairs in this state;

5. Agents of a state or federal agency as approved by the department; and

6. Researchers approved by the department pursuant to section 19a-25.

7. Military Recruiters with signed release from the registrant; document must be red

stamped

Any approved state agency or federal agency that requests a copy of a birth certificate shall 

supply to the registrar, a release signed by the registrant or by the agent of the minor child or 

legal guardian, accompanied with the requestor’s ID, authorizing a copy of the birth certificate 

be sent to the requesting agency. All other 3rd party requests are not to be honored. 

All fees for documents are payable in cash in the office or money order in the mail. Money 

orders should be made payable to Bridgeport Vital Records. The statutory fee for each certified 

copy is $20. 

Telephone verification of any information concerning the 

birth or birth record is prohibited. 

Faxing or E-mailing of any birth record is prohibited by law. 

…Registrar has the authority to request any additional document from 

this list if authenticity of provided documents is questionable... 




