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Special Licensing and Firearms Unit 

PISTOL PERMIT/ELIGIBILITY CERTIFICATE APPLICATION 

• Before completing this application, it is suggested that you review the Connecticut General Statutes pertaining to firearms.  These can
be accessed on the Internet at www.cga.ct.gov.  For those without Internet access, please contact your local library. 
• For Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP), Division of State Police, pistol permit locations, access
www.ct.gov/despp and follow the link to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit or call (860) 685-8290.  Eligibility Certificates must be 
submitted in person at DESPP Headquarters located at 1111 Country Club Road, Middletown, Connecticut. 

  Type of Permit Requested: 
Check Box: 

 60 Day Temporary State Pistol Permit  SEE APPENDIX A (DESPP-788-C) 
 Non-Resident State Pistol Permit  FOR MAGAZINE DECLARATION. 
 Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Pistols or Revolvers ADDITIONAL COPIES CAN BE OBTAINED 
 Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Long Guns  at www.ct.gov/despp 

  Instructions: 

Instructions for 60 Day Temporary State 
Pistol Permits: 

Instructions for Non-Resident 
State Pistol Permits: 

(Contact DESPP for packet) 

Instructions for Eligibility 
Certificates to Purchase Pistols or 
Revolvers and/or Eligibility 
Certificates to Purchase Long 
Guns:  

1. Complete this form (DPS-799-C) and submit to
appropriate local authority (local police,
resident state trooper or first selectperson, as
applicable) along with the below:

 Completed State and Federal fingerprint
cards with $50.00 fee and a $14.75 fee
payable to Treasurer, State of
Connecticut for criminal history
background checks;

 Firearms Safety & Use Course
Certificate; and

 $70.00 payable to the local authority;
 Proof you are legally and lawfully in the

United States (e.g., certified copy of birth
certificate, U.S. passport or
documentation issued by I.C.E.).

2. Upon approval, the local authority will
issue a Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols
and Revolvers (DPS-11-C), effective for 60
days.

3. Within the 60 day period, go to a DESPP,
Division of State Police, pistol permit location
and submit the following:

 The Temporary State Permit to Carry
Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-11-C)
issued by the local authority;

 A completed Application for State Permit
to Carry Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-46-
C);

 $70.00 payable to Treasurer, State of
Connecticut; and

 Proof you are legally and lawfully in the
United States (e.g., certified copy of birth
certificate, U.S. passport or
documentation issued by I.C.E.).

• Your photograph will be taken at DESPP.

You must hold a valid permit or 
license to carry a pistol or revolver 
issued by a recognized United 
States jurisdiction.   

Complete this form and submit to 
DESPP, Division of State Police, pistol 
permit location along with the below:   

 Completed State of CT and Federal
fingerprint card with $50.00 fee and
$16.50 fee payable to Treasurer,
State of Connecticut for criminal

history background checks;
 Firearms Safety & Use Course

Certificate;
 $70.00 payable to Treasurer, State

of Connecticut;

 Completed Application for State
Permit to Carry Pistols and
Revolvers form (DPS-46-C);

 Complete DPS-129-C and attach
2x2 color photograph (passport
style), sign and notarize form;

 A copy of the permit or license to
carry a pistol or revolver issued to
you by a recognized United States
jurisdiction; and

 Proof you are legally and lawfully in
the United States (e.g., certified copy
of birth certificate, U.S. passport or
documentation issued by I.C.E.).

Provide Out of State Pistol Permit 
Information:   

State of Issue: _______________ 

Expiration Date: _____________ 

Permit Number: ______________ 

Complete this form and submit at DESPP 
Headquarters, Division of State Police, 
along with the below:  

 Completed State and Federal
fingerprint card with $50.00 fee
and $16.50 fee payable to
Treasurer, State of
Connecticut for criminal history

background checks;
 Firearms Safety & Use Course

Certificate;
 $35.00 payable to Treasurer,

State of Connecticut;

 Application for a State Eligibility
Certificate for a Pistol or
Revolver or Long Guns (DPS-
164-C); and

 Proof you are legally and
lawfully in the United States
(e.g., certified copy of birth
certificate, U.S. passport or
documentation issued by I.C.E.).

Note:  All fees for all categories 
are separate payments. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/
http://www.ct.gov/despp
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  Contact Information/Identifying Information: 
Name of Applicant 

,   . 
Last     Suffix    

. 
First   Middle Initial 
Provide all other names by which you have been known (Maiden name, Aliases, Nicknames, etc.) 

(Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 

Date of Birth 

/ /
  Month/Day/Year

Sex 

 F  
 M 

Height 

Ft. In. 

Weight 

 Lbs. Race: ____________________ 

Use NCIC personal code descriptors for guidance 

Place of Birth 

, 
City/Town    State 

Social Security Number (Optional) 

- -

Country of Citizenship Alien Reg. Number (If applicable) 

Residential Address (List street address.  Post office box numbers are not acceptable) 

Number/Street   

, . -
City/Town       State      Zip Code 

List Residential Addresses for the Last 7 Years   (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 

*Any subsequent changes of address must be reported within 48 hours  to the  Special Licensing and Firearms Unit

1. ___________________________________________________________________________________________

2. ___________________________________________________________________________________________

Mailing Address (If different from current residential address above) 

Number/Street   

, . -
City/Town        State   Zip Code 

Home Telephone Number 

( ) -
Area Code 

Motor Vehicle Operators License Number   

 State of Issue 

  Employment History: 

List Employers for the Last 7 Years (Provide employer’s name, address and telephone number) 
(Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 

1. ___________________________________________________________________________________________

2. ___________________________________________________________________________________________

  Permit or Eligibility Certificate History: 

Have you had a firearms permit, permit application or eligibility certificate of any kind from ANY jurisdiction in the 
United States denied, suspended or revoked?  NO    YES     

If "YES,” provide:   

1. Identify the jurisdiction which issued the denial, suspension or revocation: ___________________

2. Date of denial, suspension or revocation:  _______________________________________________

3. The reason for the denial, suspension or revocation:______________________________________
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  Medical History: 

 
Have you been confined in a hospital for mental illness in the past sixty (60) months by order of a Probate Court?   

 NO    YES    If "YES," explain:  (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
Have you been discharged from custody within the past twenty years after having been found Not Guilty of a crime 
by Reason of a Mental Disease or Defect?    NO    YES 
If "YES," explain: (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
Have you been voluntarily admitted to a hospital for mental illness within the past six (6) months for reasons other 
than solely for alcohol or drug dependence?   NO    YES 
If "YES," explain: (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
Notice:  Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection herein notifies the applicant that, pursuant to 
Connecticut General Statutes Sections 29-28 through 29-38b, DESPP will be notified by the Department of Mental Health 
and Addiction Services if the applicant has been confined to a hospital for psychiatric disabilities within the preceding sixty 
(60) months by order of probate court, or if the applicant has been voluntarily admitted to a hospital for mental illness within 
the past six (6) months for reasons other than solely for alcohol or drug dependence. 

  Criminal History: 

Have you ever been ARRESTED for any crime, in any jurisdiction?    NO    YES   If "YES," list all arrests, 
indicating charges, locations, dates of arrest and dispositions.  (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
 
 
 
Notice: You are not required to disclose the existence of any arrest, criminal charge or conviction, the records of which 
have been erased pursuant to C.G.S. 46b-146, 54-76o, or 54-142a. If your criminal records have been erased pursuant to 
one of these statutes, you may swear under oath that you have never been arrested. Criminal records that may be erased 
are records pertaining to a finding of delinquency or that a child was a member of a family with service needs (C.G.S. 46b-
146), an adjudication as a youthful offender (C.G.S. 54-76o), a criminal charge that has been dismissed or nolled, a criminal 
charge for which the person has been found not guilty, or a conviction for which the person received an absolute pardon 
(C.G.S. 54-142a). 
 
With regard to criminal history information arising from jurisdictions other than the State of Connecticut: You are not 
required to disclose the existence of any arrest, criminal charge or conviction, the records of which have been erased 
pursuant to the law of the other jurisdiction. Additionally, you are not required to disclose the existence of an arrest arising 
from another jurisdiction if you are permitted under the law of that jurisdiction to swear under oath that you have never been 
arrested. 
 
Have you ever been CONVICTED under the laws of this state, federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction? 

 NO    YES    If "YES,” list all convictions, include charges, location, date of arrest, and disposition.  (Attach additional 
sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
Are you currently on probation, parole, work release, in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program or other pre-trial 
diversionary program or currently released on personal recognizance, a written promise to appear or a bail bond 
for a pending court case?    NO    YES.    If "YES," explain.  (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) 
 
 
Have you ever been the subject of a Protective Order or Restraining Order issued by a court in a case involving the 
use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against another person, regardless of the outcome or result 
of any related criminal case?      NO    YES  
If “YES,” which court issued the order? 
 

  Military History: 
 
Were you ever discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States with a less than Honorable Discharge?   NO   YES. 

*If you have ever been a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and have been discharged, attach a copy of 
your DD-214 
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  Proof of Training: 

 
*Attach a copy of the letter or certificate attesting that you have completed a course in the safety and use of pistols and 
revolvers or long guns (as appropriate depending upon which permit or certificate you are requesting), signed by the 
instructor of the course.   
Instructor:  (Check applicable box)   
 

 National Rifle Association   
 Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP)  
 Other: ___________________________________ 

 
State Instructor's Name and ID Number:_______________________________________________________ 
 

  Declaration: 

I understand that any false statement herein, which I do not believe to be true and which is intended to mislead a public 
servant in the performance of his or her official function, is punishable by law (See CGS § 53a-157b).  I further understand 
that any statement in this application that is determined to be false or inaccurate shall constitute grounds for the denial of 
such application.  If approved before the facts are known, such approval shall be void if based on a false or inaccurate 
statement.  My signature below attests to the accuracy, completeness and to the truth of all information supplied on this 
application: 
 
I declare, under the penalties of False Statement, that the answers to the above are true and correct. 

 
 
 
 
 Date:  ____________________  Signed         
 
 
 STATE OF      
 
      Print Name        
 COUNTY OF _______________  
 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______ day of       20_____ 
 
 
              
       Name: 
       Notary Public 
       My Commission Expires: 
       Commissioner of Superior Court 

 
 

NOTICE:  Appeal Process for Permits 

In the event that your application for pistol permit or eligibility certificate is denied or revoked, you may notify the 
Board of Firearm Permit Examiners, in writing, within ninety (90) days, in order to begin your appeal process.  At 
a hearing before the Board, you may request that your application be reconsidered or that your permit or 
eligibility certificate be reinstated.  Contact Information for the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners, State Office 
Building, 20 Trinity St., Hartford, CT 06106.  Telephone (860) 256-2977 or (800) 996-7078. 

For Official Use Only: 

Application Received: 
 

/ /  
Month/Day/Year 

FBI Sent:    No    Yes 

FBI Reply:    No    Yes 

ICE Response:    No    Yes 

DMHAS:   No    Yes 

SPBI:     No    Yes  

Number :                  

Application Status: 

 

 Approved    Denied 

 

    
(Signature and title of issuing authority) 
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