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Marriage License Requirements 
 

If you are planning to marry, you and your spouse-to-be must appear in 
person at the Vital Records office for a marriage license. You must apply 
for your license at the vital records office of the city where the marriage is 
to take place. You will need to supply the following information: 
 

 Name and telephone number of person performing ceremony (i.e.  
Justice of the Peace, Pastor, Priest, Rabbi, etc.). A complete listing of 
Bridgeport Justices of the Peace is enclosed within this booklet. 

 Date and location of marriage ceremony. 

 Your parents’ names including your mother’s maiden name, and their 
place of birth. 

 Valid government-issued photo ID for each party. 

 Social Security Card, if you do not know your number. 

 Fee is $30 (cash or money order only) no personal checks. 

 Non-English speaking applicants will be accommodated. Please give 
advance notice if possible.  On Mondays after 5 p.m., a translator may 
not be available. 

Note: 

 Parties must arrive at office before 6 p.m. on Monday; and before  

4 p.m. on Tuesday-Friday. Process takes about 30 minutes to  
complete. 

 If couple appear together the license may be taken that day; otherwise, 
it is held until both parties have appeared. 

 The office does not go to institutions or private homes to process  
marriage license applications.  All parties must appear before the  
registrar at the registrar’s office during normal business hours.  

 If you want a copy of your certified certificate after the marriage  
ceremony, please wait one week before applying. The fee is $20 (cash 
or money order only). 

 A marriage license is valid for 65 days. (You must get married within  
65 days of applying for your license.) 

 There is no waiting period between applying for and receiving your 
license.  

 You no longer need to have a blood test to obtain a marriage  
license in Connecticut. 

Office Hours: 
Monday 9 A.M. until 6 P.M.  

Tuesday-Friday 9 A.M. until 4 P.M. 
Closed on Saturday and Sunday 

203-576-7475 or 7476 

 
Marriage License Laws of Connecticut Sections 46b-20 to 46b-35b, inclusive, and 
Sections 46b-38qq to 46b-38rr of the Connecticut General Statutes are enclosed 
within booklet. 



Bridgeport Justices of the Peace  Terms:  2012-2016 

 
Name   Address    Phone 

Vidal Agosto  1354 Pembroke St 06608  203-333-8342 

Manuel Ayala  60 Gilmore St #1 06608  203-367-4314 

Albertina Baptista 145 Robin St 06606  203-331-9897 

Manuel Bataguas  1105 North Ave 06604  203-241-6089 

Joseph J. Borges  218 Norman St 06605  203-993-3293 

Francisco Borres  31 Fairbanks St 06610  203-209-9306 

Sali Borres  586 Clinton Ave 06605  203-367-0067 

Melissa Borres  31 Fairbanks St 06610  203-895-0037 

Pearl M. Brooks  220 Lyon Terr 06604  203-345-9208 

David R. Burnell  30 Goddard Ave 06610  203-345-5998 

Christopher L. Caruso 208B Beechmont Ave 06605 203-362-9413 

Fedela Cidorowich 71 Truman St 202 06606  203-337-9995 

Vallorie L. Clark  1133 Central Ave 06607  203-725-2155 

Charles Clemons, Jr. 130 Reed St 06607  203-579-0280 

Carol A. Cocco  564 Brooklawn Ave 06604 203-913-7495 

Cruz M. Cotto  117 Alpine St 06610  203-367-0951 

Josephine M. Covino 669 Clarke St 06606  203-372-3404 

Hector Diaz Jr  34 Arthur St 06605 

Johanna T. Dorgan 88 Lance Drive 06606  203-209-6333 

Theresa Dworkin  546 West McKinley Ave 06604 203-576-1878 

Willie A. Dyer  103 Douglas St 06606  203-549-8290 

Melva Falberg  2445 Park Ave #12 06604  203-384-9399 

Bill Finch  70 Crown St 06610  203-576-7201 

Luz Mary Flores  47 Sherman St 06608  203-243-7293 

Joseph J. Garamella 2625 Park Ave 8G 06604  203-333-5835 

Linda A. Grace  793 Broadbridge Rd 06610 203-371-0097 

Dorothy Guman  133 Hickory St 06610 

Joyce Guytan  4 Pierce Pl 06605   203-526-7605 

Joseph S. Hatrick, Sr. 405 McKinley St 06604  203-333-4836 

Juan Hernandez  660 Union Ave 06607  203-449-0287 

Gilberto P. Hernandez 225 Hough Ave 06608  203-333-6362 

Hernandez Juan  585 East Main St 06608  203-218-2959 

Jeanette Herron  2649 Main St 06606  203-209-2788 

Rosemarie Hoyt  625 Clark St 06606  203-374-1919 

Linda B. Juan  54 Alfred St 06605  203-243-5789 

James Keyser  53 Henderson St 06606  203-801-8322 

Michelle Lyons  91 Jewett Ave 06606   

Ramona Marquez  1030 Madison Ave 06606  203-556-6264 

Lydia N. Martinez 92 Grant Street 06608  203-450-1221 

Mary McBride-Lee 125 Hillcrest Rd 06605  203-767-9776 

Thomas C. McCarthy 135 Harlem Ave 06606  

 

 



 

Name Address Phone 

John F. McCarthy Jr. 152 Morehouse Rd 06605 203-257-5106 

Louriem R. McKlosky 1150 North Ave 06604 203-336-3600 

Michael S. Meehan 113 Seaside Ave 06605 203-334-1579 

Marilyn Middlemass 119 Hickory St 06610  

Anthony Minutolo 1565 Madison Ave 06606 203-243-3094 

Michele “Mike” Minutolo 1565 Madison Ave 06606 203-368-2089 

Joseph Minutolo 793 Broadbridge Rd 06610 203-371-0097 

Kevin G. Monks 200 Holand Rd 06610 

Tamar A. Morales 304 Huntington Rd 2nd Fl 06608 203-685-9593 

John W. Olson 25 Cartright St 5H 06604 203-576-6862 

Eugene P. O’Neill 25 Sexton Dr 06604 203-374-2969 

Diana Osborne 40 Edna Ave 06610 203-345-1087 

Richard M. Paoletto, Jr. 321 Lynne Pl 06610 203-373-9694 

Lisa Parziale 97 Bick Terr 06605   

Jose Quiroga 730 Palisade Ave H1 06610 203-522-6082 

Nina Ramos 95A Karen Ct 06606 203-923-8490 

Daniel S. Roach 19 Quinlan Ave 06605 

Jerome H. Roberts 215 Daniels Ave 06606 203-362-5916 

Evelyn Robles 993 State St 06605 203-997-8609 

Nereyda Robles 839 State St 06605 203-367-0707 

Hector R. Rodriguez 1030 Madison Ave 06608 203-895-2089 

Edgar Rodriguez 426 E Washington Ave 06608 203-330-8081 

Stuart M. Rosenberg 106 Unquowa Hill St 06604 203-333-5151 

Americo Santiago 93 Burnham St 06604 203-400-4660 

Martha Santiago 410 Kent St 06610 203-727-4321 

Frances Sharp 379 Carroll Ave 2nd Fl 06607 203-864-7599 

Carlos Silva 213 Fairview Ave 06606 203-345-8201 

Deborah T. Sims 302 Union Ave 06607  

Philip L. Smith 230 Rosewood Pl 06610 203-372-8045 

Hugh D. Spurgin 285 Lafayette St 06604 203-366-5799 

Audrey J. Stabler 70 Boston Terr 06610 203-333-0404 

Patricia Steeves 50 Madison Ave 06604 203-414-8475 

Deborah Taylor 404 Brewster St 06605 203-502-1820 

John Tedesco 301 Taft Ave 06604 203-334-2751 

Raven D. Walters 15 Seeley St 06605 203-521-8079 

John R. Weldon 164 Seaside Ave 06605 203-367-7664 

Adam Wood 120 Midland Ave 06605 203-829-5222 

Yacovacci PasquaJina P.D. 5366 Park Ave 06604 203-371-7158 

Brenda B. Young 1323 Stratford Ave A-5 06610 203-385-2889 

James E. Zavodjancik 838 Merritt St 06606 203-631-8945 



Marriage License Laws of Connecticut 

Section 46b-20. Definitions. As used in this chapter: (1) “Registrar” means the registrar of vital statis-

tics; (2) “Applicant” means applicant for a marriage license; (3) “License” means marriage license; and 

(4) “Marriage” means the legal union of two persons. 

Section 46b-20a. Eligibility to Marry.  A person is eligible to marry if such person is:  (1) Not a party to 

another marriage, or a relationship that provides substantially the same rights, benefits and responsibili-

ties as a marriage, entered into in this state or another state or jurisdiction, unless the parties to the  

marriage will be the same as the parties to such other marriage or relationship; (2) Except as provided in 

section 46b-30 of the general statutes, at least eighteen years of age; (3) Except as provided in section 46b

-29 of the general statutes, not under the supervision or control of a conservator; and (4) Not prohibited 

from entering into a marriage pursuant to section 46b-21 of the general statutes, as amended by this act. 

Section 46b-21. Marriage of persons related by consanguinity or affinity prohibited.  No person may 
marry such person’s parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, parent’s sibling, sibling’s child, step-

parent or stepchild.  Any marriage within these degrees is void. 

Sec. 46b-22. (Formerly Sec. 46-3). Who may join persons in marriage.  Penalty for unauthorized 

performance. (a) Persons authorized to solemnize marriages in this state include (1) all judges and retired 

judges, either elected or appointed, including federal judges and judges of other states who may legally 

join persons in marriage in their jurisdictions, (2) family support magistrates, state referees and justices of 

the peace who are appointed in Connecticut, and (3) all ordained or licensed members of the clergy, 
belonging to this state or any other state, as long as they continue in the work of the ministry. All mar-

riages solemnized according to the forms and usages of any religious denomination in this state, includ-

ing marriages witnessed by a duly constituted Spiritual Assembly of the Baha’is, are valid.  All marriages 

attempted to be celebrated by any other person are void. (b) No public official legally authorized to issue 

marriage licenses may join persons in marriage under authority of a license issued by such public official. 

(c) Any person violating any provision of this section shall be fined, not more than fifty dollars. 

Section 46b-22a.  Validation of marriages performed by unauthorized justice of the peace.  All 

marriages celebrated before June 6, 2014, otherwise valid except that the justice of the peace joining such 
persons in marriage did not have a valid certificate of qualification, are validated, provided the justice of 

the peace who joined such persons in marriage represented himself or herself to be a duly qualified  

justice of the peace and such persons reasonably relied upon such representation. 

Section 46b-22b. Refusal to solemnize or participants in ceremony solemnizing a marriage on  

religious grounds. (a) No member of the clergy authorized to join persons in marriage pursuant to sec-

tion 46b-22 of the general statues shall be required to solemnize any marriage in violation of his or her 

right to the free exercise of religion guaranteed by the first amendment to the United States Constitution 

or section 3 of article first of the Constitution of the state. (b) No church or qualified church-controlled 
organization, as defined in 26 USC 3121, shall be required to participate in a ceremony solemnizing a 

marriage in violation of the religious beliefs of that church or qualified church-controlled organization. 

Section 46b-23.(Formerly Sec.46-4). Joining persons in marriage knowingly without authority.   

Any person who undertakes to join persons in marriage, knowing that he is not authorized to do so, shall 

be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than one year or both. 

Section 46b-24. License. Period of validity. Penalty for solemnization without license. Validity of 

marriage ceremony. (a) No persons may be joined in marriage in this state until both have complied 
with the provisions of sections 46b-24, 46b-25 and 46b-29 to 46b-33, inclusive, and have been issued a 

license by the registrar for the town in which the marriage is to be celebrated, which license shall bear the 

certification of the registrar that the persons named therein have complied with the provisions of said 

sections. (b) Such license, when certified by the registrar, is sufficient authority for any person authorized 

to perform a marriage ceremony in this state to join such persons in marriage, provided the ceremony is 

performed within a period of not more than sixty-five days after the date of application. (c) Anyone who 

joins  any persons in marriage without having received such license from them shall be fined not more 

than one hundred dollars. (d) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, in order to be valid in this 
state, a marriage ceremony shall be conducted by and in the physical presence of a person who is  

authorized to solemnize marriages. 



Section 46b-24a. Validation of marriages occurring in town other than town where license issued. 

All marriages celebrated before June 14, 2014, otherwise valid except that the license for any such mar-

riage was issued in a town other than the town in this state in which such marriage was celebrated, or 
where either party to the marriage resided at the time of the marriage license application, are validated. 

Section 46b-25.(Formerly Sec. 465b). Application for license.  No license may be issued by the regis-

trar until both persons have appeared before the registrar and made application for a license.  The regis-

trar shall issue a license to any two person eligible to marry under this chapter. The license shall be com-

pleted in its entirety, dated, signed and sworn to by each applicant and shall state each applicant’s name, 

age, race, birthplace, residence, whether single, widowed or divorced and whether under the supervision 

or control of a conservator or guardian. The Social Security numbers of both persons shall be recorded in 

the “administrative purposes” section of the license. If the license is signed and sworn to by the appli-
cants on different dates, the earlier date shall be deemed the date of application.  

Section 46b-28. When marriages in foreign country are valid. All marriages in which one or both 

parties are citizens of this state, celebrated in a foreign country, shall be valid, provided: (1) Each party 

would have legal capacity to contract such marriage in this state and the marriage is celebrated in confor-

mity with the law of that country; or (2) the marriage is celebrated, in the presence of the ambassador or 

minister to that country from the United States or in the presence of a consular officer of the United 

States accredited to such country, at a place within his consular jurisdiction, by any ordained or licensed 

clergyman engaged in the work of the ministry in any state of the United States or in any foreign country. 

Section 46b-28a. Recognition of marriages and other relationships entered into in another state or 

jurisdiction. A marriage, or a relationship that provides substantially the same rights, benefits and re-

sponsibilities as a marriage, between two persons entered into in another state or jurisdiction and recog-

nized as valid by such other state or jurisdiction shall be recognized as a valid marriage in this state, 

provided such marriage or relationship is not expressly prohibited by statute in this state. 

Section 46b-28b. Recognition by another state or jurisdiction of marriages entered into in this state. 

A marriage between two persons entered into in this state and recognized as valid in this state may be 
recognized as a marriage, or a relationship that provides substantially the same rights, benefits and re-

sponsibilities as a marriage, in another state or jurisdiction if one or both persons travel to or reside in 

such other state or jurisdiction. 

Section 46b-29.(Formerly Sec. 46-5e.). Marriage of persons under conservatorship. (a) No marriage 

license may be issued to any applicant under the supervision or control of a conservator, appointed in 

accordance with sections 45a-644 to 45a-662, inclusive, unless the written consent of the conservator, 

signed and acknowledged before a person authorized to take acknowledgments of conveyances under the 

provisions of section 47-5a, or authorized to take acknowledgments in any other state or country, is filed 
with the registrar. (b) Any person married without the consent provided for in subsection (a) of this sec-

tion shall acquire no rights by such marriage in the property of any person who was under control or 

supervision at the time of the marriage. 

Section 46b-30.(Formerly Sec.465f). Marriage of minors. (a) No license may be issued to any appli-

cant under sixteen years of age, unless the judge of probate for the district in which the minor resides 

endorses his written consent on the license. (b) No license may be issued to any applicant under eighteen 

years  of age, unless the written consent of a parent or guardian of the person of such minor, signed and 
acknowledged before a person authorized to take acknowledgements of conveyances under the provisions 

of section 47-5a, or authorized to take acknowledgements in any other state or country, is filed with the 

registrar. If no parent or guardian of the person of such minor is a resident of the United States, the writ-

ten consent of the judge of probate for the district in which the minor resides, endorsed on the license, 

shall be sufficient. 

Section 46b-33.(Formerly Sec. 46-5j). Copy of law to applicants. Each registrar shall issue a copy of 

sections 46b-24, 46b-25 and 46b-29 to 46b-33, inclusive, to any person making application for a license. 

Section 46b-34.(Formerly Sec.46-7)Marriage certificate. Affidavit in lieu of certificate. (a) Each 
person who joins any person in marriage shall certify upon the license certificate the fact, time and place 

of the marriage, and return it to the registrar of the town where the marriage took place, before or during 

the first week of the month following the marriage. Any person who fails to do so shall be fined not more 

than ten dollars. (b) If any person fails to return the certificate to the registrar, as required under subsec-

tion (a) of this section, the persons joined in marriage may provide the registrar with a notarized affidavit 

attesting to the fact that they were joined in marriage and stating the date and place of the marriage. Upon 

the recording of such affidavit by the registrar, the marriage of the affiants shall be deemed to be valid as 

of the date of the marriage stated in the affidavit. 



Section 46b-35.Certificates prima facie evidence. The certificates required by sections 46b-24, 

46b-24a,46b-25 and 46b-29 to 46b-34, inclusive, or an affidavit recorded pursuant to subsection (b) of 

section 46b-34, shall be prima facie evidence of the facts stated in them. 

Sec.46b-35a.Refusal to provide services or accommodations related to the solemnization or celebra-

tion of a marriage on religious grounds, Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a religious or-

ganization, association or society, or any nonprofit institution or organization operated supervised or 

controlled by or in conjunction with a religious organization, association or society, shall not be required 

to provide services, accommodations, advantages, facilities, goods or privileges to an individual if the 

request for such services, accommodations, advantages, facilities, goods or privileges is related to the 

solemnization of a marriage or celebration of a marriage and such solemnization or celebration is in 

violation of their religious beliefs and faith. Any refusal to provide services, accommodations, advan-
tages, facilities, goods or privileges in accordance with this section shall not create any civil claim or 

cause of action, or result in any state action to penalize or withhold benefits from such religious organiza-

tion, association or society, or any nonprofit institution or organization operated, supervised or controlled 

by or in conjunction with a religious organization, association on society.  

Section 46b-35b.Effect of marriage equality law on provision of adoption, foster care or social 

services by religious organization. Nothing in this act shall be deemed or construed to affect the manner 

in which a religious organization may provide adoption, foster care or social services if such religious 

organization does not receive state or federal funds for that specific program or purpose. 

Section 46b-38qq.Merger of civil union into marriage by action of the parties. (a) on and after April 

23, 2009, and prior to October 1, 2010, two person who are parties to a civil union entered into pursuant 

to sections 46b-38aa to 46b-38oo, inclusive, may apply for and be issued a marriage license, provided 

such persons are otherwise eligible to marry under chapter 815e and the parties to the marriage will be the 

same as the parties to the civil union. (b) After the celebration of such marriage and upon the recording of 

the license certificate or notarized affidavit with the registrar of vital statistics of the town where the 

marriage took place pursuant to section 46b-34, the civil union of such persons shall be merged into the 
marriage by operation of law as of the date of the marriage stated in the certificate or affidavit. 

Section 46b-38rr. Merger of civil union into marriage by default. Exception. (a) Two persons who 

are parties to a civil union established pursuant to sections 46b-38aa to 46b-38oo inclusive, that has not 

been dissolved or annulled by the parties or merged into a marriage by operation of law under section 46b

-38qq as of October 1, 2010, shall be deemed to be married under chapter 815e on said date and such 

civil union shall be merged into such marriage by operation of law on said date. (b) Not withstanding the 

provisions of subsection (a) of this section, the parties to a civil union with respect to which  a proceeding 

for dissolution, annulment or legal separation is pending on October 1, 2010, shall not be deemed to be 
married on said date and such civil union shall not be merged into such marriage by operation of law but 

shall continue to be governed by the provisions of the general statutes applicable to civil unions in effect 

prior to October 1, 2010. 
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Bridgeport is getting better every day because folks like 

you are choosing the city for your nuptials.  Congratu-

lations on your marriage and much happiness on this 

momentous day. 

    Bill Finch, Mayor   

       


