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IN ACCORDANCE WITH STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
VITAL RECORDS REGULATIONS 

In order to obtain your Birth Certificate you must provide a Government issued photo 

identification which includes date of birth, signature and expiration date such as: 

•Current State ID issued by the State of Connecticut DMV 

•Current motor vehicle ID issued by the State of Connecticut DMV (with the correct address) 

•Current motor vehicle ID issued by the state where your currently reside 

•A valid passport 

If a government issued photographic identification is not available, at least two of the 

following documents: 

 •A social security card 

•A social security card supplemented with an employment identification card 

•Automobile registration 

•Birth certificate of the applicant 

•Checking account deposit slip showing name and current address 

•Copy of utility bill showing name and current address 

•Current school or college photographic ID 

•Government issued photographic identification (current) or that has expired within 12 months prior to the date of the   

request  

•Letter from a government agency verifying identity.:  letter shall be dated within 6 months prior to the date of the 

request. 

•Medical card 

•Military discharge papers 

•Pay stub 

•Probation documents issued by a court or other government agency, pursuant to a criminal conviction 

•Release documentation from a correctional institution containing a photograph of the former inmate and a release 

date within 12 months prior to the date of the request 
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•Valid government issued firearm permit 

•Valid government issued trade or professional license 

•Voter registration card 

•W-2 form 

•Written verification of identity from employer 

•Other documents as approved by the State Registrar of Vital Records 

Sec. 7-51 CGS –Birth records are confidential according to State Statute.  Access to birth records less than 100 years 

old is restricted in Connecticut.  The only persons who may have access to or be permitted to examine the original or 

any copy of a birth certificate or birth record are: 

(1) The person whose birth is recorded, if over 16 years of age; 

(2) Such person’s children, grandchildren, spouse, civil union partner, parent, guardian or grandparent.  (NOTE:  a 

father has access only if he is recorded on the child’s birth certificate); 

a.  If you are a biological grandparent, you may purchase your grandchild’s birth certificate, with proof of relation 

(such as your child’s birth certificate).  If your child was not born in Bridgeport you must provide an original birth 

certificate (containing the raised seal) for your child, in order to purchase your grandchild’s certificate. 

b. If you are obtaining a certificate for your spouse, you must provide your marriage license.  If you were married in 

Bridgeport, we will be able to verify this in our records. 

(3) Attorneys-at-law and title examiners representing such person or such person’s parent, guardian, child or surviving 

spouse; 

(4) Members of genealogical societies incorporated or authorized by the secretary of the state to do business or 

conduct affairs in this state; 

(5) Agents of a state or federal agency as approved by the department; and  

(6) Researchers approved by the department pursuant to section 19a-25. 

(7) Military Recruiters with signed release from the registrant; document must be red stamped 

Any approved state agency or federal agency that requests a copy of a birth certificate shall supply to the registrar, a 

release signed by the registrant or by the agent of the minor child or legal guardian, accompanied with the requestor’s 

ID, authorizing a copy of the birth certificate be sent to the requesting agency.  All other 3rd party requests are not to be 

honored. 

All fees for documents are payable in cash in the office or money order in the mail.  Money orders should be made 

payable to Bridgeport Vital Records.  The statutory fee for each certified copy is $20. 

Telephone verification of any information concerning the birth or birth record is prohibited. 

Faxing or E-mailing of any birth record is prohibited by law. 

…Registrar has the authority to request any additional document from this list if authenticity 

of provided documents is questionable. 


