Skip to main content


The Civil Service Commission meets the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 4:30 pm. Meetings are conducted in person. Meeting schedules may change due to holidays or other schedule conflicts. 

Commission Members

The Civil Service Commission consists of five members appointed by the mayor, to serve a five-year term. Up to two of the members can be of the same political party and no member shall hold salaried public office. Members serve until a successor has qualified and is appointed.

One of the five commissioners is an employee, elected by the employees of the City of Bridgeport. The employee member shall be permitted to hold paid public office or position. The next employee election will take place in the fall of 2023.

Civil Service Commissioner Melva Falberg headshot.
Chairperson Melva Falberg (R)

2445 Park Avenue

Bridgeport, CT 06604

Term Expires: 10/1/2017 
Civil Service Commissioner LaShea Hall headshot.
Vice Chairperson LaShea Hall (D)

141 Thorme St

Bridgeport, CT 06606

Term Expires 10/1/2024 
Civil Service Commissioner Richard P. Rodgers Headshot.
Commissioner Richard P. Rodgers (D)

94 Soundview Avenue 

Bridgeport, CT 06606 

Term Expires 10/1/2010
Civil Service Commissioner Dr. Ralph Ford Headshot.
Commissioner Dr. Ralph Ford (D)

410 Mill Hill Avenue 

Bridgeport, CT 06610

Term Expires: 10/01/2025
Civil Service Commissioner Paul Grech headshot.
Commissioner Captain Paul Grech, Elected Employee Representative

300 Congress Street

Bridgeport, CT 06604

Term Expires:10/1/2023

About the Civil Service Commission

The office of the Civil Service Commission serves as the central personnel office for the City of Bridgeport and provides services to the general public and government employees. This includes:

  • Administration of Chapter 17 of the Charter of the City of Bridgeport and the Rules and Regulations of the Civil Service Commission
  • Entry level and promotional merit-based examinations
  • Recruitment and retention of a diverse workforce and seasonal hiring
  • Hiring for all City departments in compliance with state and federal employment laws
  • Payroll administration and verification
  • Classification of positions and job descriptions
  • Administration of the pension plan for Civil Service employees under the State of Connecticut Municipal Employees Retirement System (CMERS)

If you have any questions please contact:

Deborah Brelsford, Clerk to Commission,