Skip to main content


The Historic District Commission meets the 1st Tuesday of each month at 6:00 PM in the City Council Chambers of Bridgeport City Hall, 45 Lyon Terrace.  Meeting schedules may change due to holidays or other schedule conflicts

Commission Members

The Historic District Commission consists of up to five members each appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council.

Guy Horvath (D) Chairman    

Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Susan Tabachnick (D) Vice-Chair     

Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Kristen Alvanson (D)    

Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Stuart Sachs (D)    

Term Expires: 5/3/2024


Tim O'Connor (D)    

Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Rachel Rockwell    

Term Expires: 12/31/2025

About the Historic District Commission

The Historic District Commission's purpose is to review proposed exterior alterations and improvements to properties within the three (5) local historic districts of East Bridgeport & Pembroke City, Stratfield, Marina Park, Barnum-Palliser and Black Rock Harbor, and to ensure that the proposed changes meet the guidelines put forth by the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.  The Commission’s goal is to preserve the important architectural resources within Bridgeport. Approval is required for any work seen from the street, including, but not limited to, siding, windows, roofing, porches, and additions. In order for work to proceed, a Certificate of Appropriateness is required. For homeowners not familiar with what changes are acceptable or not, the review process provides an opportunity for discussion and recommendation to ensure that the project can move forward. 

If you have any questions please contact:

Paul Boucher, Zoning Administrator