Due to the Coronavirus Pandemic (COVID-19), the offices of Vital Records is closed to the public until further notice. For Funeral Directors in need of certificates, please use this informational packet and find the procedures for services. For Birth Certificates, please mail in a written request or go to vitalchek.com. For more information, please contact the State Vital Records Office here.
Genealogists are allowed to visit the vault on Tuesdays from 9-am until 4:30 pm. They must have membership cards recognized by the Secretary of State’s office and government-issued photo ID. Photographic copying is prohibited by law.
Fee for Genealogical Searches Performed by Office of Vital Statistics:
The office of Vital Statistics shall charge an established fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) for any search, including a certified copy thereof, if one is found, that it conducts upon request of the public. A refund will be sent if no record is found. Please know that it takes 90 days or longer to search for genealogy records and recommends that you retain the services of a registered genealogist.
Genealogy Resources in Connecticut: State Library Vital Records Information
State Library link for Connecticut Genealogists: https//libguides.ctstatelibrary.org/hg/reseacher
Birth Records begin in 1850
Death Records begin in 1855
Marriage Records begin in 1833
Patricia P. Ulatowski
999 Broad Street, 1st Floor Bridgeport, CT 06604
Phone: (203) 576-7476
Fax: (203) 332-5633
Monday 8 a.m.- 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday-Friday 9 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.
Please note: Marriage license applications not accepted after 6:00 p.m. on Monday and 4 p.m. Tuesday-Friday.