Frequently Asked Questions:
Why do I Need a Building Permit?
Connecticut General Statutes require all municipalities to administer and enforce the Connecticut State Building Codes. This is to ensure compliance with minimum health, safety, and welfare requirements. Construction work done on a residential or commercial building without permits and inspections is a violation of the building code and subject to penalties, which can include fines and/or imprisonment.
Does a Permit Expire?
Every permit issued shall become invalid unless the work on the site authorized by such permit is commenced within 180 days from date of issuance or if the work such work authorized by such permit is suspended or abandoned for a period of 180 days after the time such work has commenced.
The Building Official is authorized to grant in writing, one or more extensions of time for periods of not more than 180 days each. The extensions shall be requested in writing and justifiable cause shall be demonstrated.
Can I Start Work While the Permit Application is being Reviewed?
NO, Building Code states no work can commence without the proper permits being issued.
How Long Does it take to get a Permit?
Pursuant to section 29-263 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the Building Official shall examine or cause to be examined applications for permits and amendments thereto within 90 days after filing and either issue or deny a permit within such 90-day period.
If the application or construction documents do not conform to the requirements of this code and pertinent laws, the Building Official shall reject such application in writing, stating the reasons therefore. If the Building Official is satisfied that the proposed work conforms to the requirements of this code and applicable laws, the building official shall issue a permit therefor as soon as practical.
What Happens If Permit Application is Rejected?
Should an application be rejected, the applicant shall have 180 days to respond to the reasons of rejection. If no response is provided within the 180 days or not perused in good faith, the application shall be considered abandoned and voided.
How do I Find Out the Status of my Permit Application?
You would contact the Building Department office at 203-576-7225, via email at email@example.com or visit the office in City Hall at 45 Lyon Terrace, Room 222 on the second floor.
Why do I Need a Site Plan?
Per the Connecticut Building Code, the construction documents submitted with the application for permit shall be accompanied by a Site Plan showing the size and location of new construction and existing structures on the site and distances shown from lot lines.
In the case of demolition, the site plan shall show construction to be demolished and the location and size of existing structures and construction that are to remain on the site or plot.
The Building Official is authorized to waive or modify the requirement for a site plan where the application for permit is for alteration or repair or where otherwise warranted.
Why do I Need Zoning Approval?
Pursuant to subsection (f) of section 8-3 of the CGS, no building permit shall be issued, in whole or in part, for a building, structure or use subject to the zoning regulations of a municipality without certification in writing by the official charged with the enforcement of such regulations that such building, structure or use is in conformity with such regulations or is a valid nonconforming use under such regulations.
Why do I Need Fire Marshal Approval?
Pursuant to section 29-263 of the CGS, no building permit for a building, structure or use subject to the requirements of the Connecticut State Fire Code shall be issued in whole or in part without certification in writing from the local fire marshal that the construction documents for such building, structure or use are in substantial compliance with the requirements of the Connecticut State Fire Safety Code.
What Handouts are available to Assist in Providing the Necessary Information for Applying for a Permit?
Is There Any Restrictions on When Work Can Be Done?
See City Ordinances, Chapter 8.80 - Noise Control Regulations